Product Reviews


Crestron Pyng App and Hub
By John Sciacca,   October 06, 2014
Admit it, when you hear “Crestron” you likely think about a powerful, do anything, open-ended control platform that requires a significant amount of programming time likely measured in days and performed by someone with years of advanced training. More..

NEAR LB8 Outdoor Loudspeakers
By Dennis Burger,   October 06, 2014
When the head of PR for NEAR (New England Audio Resource) approached me this summer about reviewing a set of the company’s outdoor speakers, I’ll admit that my response was probably not what he expected. More..

zBoost Trio Soho Cell/Data Booster
By John Sciacca,   September 03, 2014
Confession: When asked if I wanted to review zBoost’s ZB575 TRIO SOHO cellular/data booster, I thought it was going to be a walk in the park. In truth, this was one of the most challenging and time-consuming reviews that I’ve done, taking multiple different installation attempts at two locations to fully understand the system and get it to work correctly. More..

PRO Control Pro 24.z Remote, ProLink.z Processor
By Dennis Burger,   September 03, 2014
When reviewing a new product, your friendly neighborhood technology writer basically has to choose between two wholly different ways to approach the evaluation. More..

Just What Is Access Networks Home Networking System?
By Dennis Burger,   August 25, 2014
If you still haven’t wrapped your brain around what Access Networks does, essentially they take the guesswork out of enterprise-grade networking design, they make the installation process so easy that your mom could do it, and they do it for not much more money than you would spend buying the same gear yourself. More..

Bluesound High-Res Streaming Audio System
By John Sciacca,   August 11, 2014
The marketing jargon used to describe wireless music systems is typically laced with terms like “simple,” “convenient,” and “lifestyle.” More..

Product Review: Paradigm’s Soundscape Powered Soundbar
By John Sciacca,   July 07, 2014
The Soundscape, hailing from the Paradigm’s successful Monitor Series, is the company’s first foray into the 5.1-channel powered soundbar category. The Soundscape uses Paradigm’s PAL anodized pure aluminum tweeters instead of MartinLogans’ Folded Motion high-frequency drivers, and features significantly more amplifier power. More..

Park Stevens Landscape Audio System
By Dennis Burger,   June 05, 2014
I should probably just go ahead and admit my biases from the giddy-up: my expectations for outdoor speakers have, generally speaking, always been pretty low, at least when compared with indoor speakers. More..

Clare Controls amp.1640 16-channel Amp
By John Sciacca,   June 05, 2014
For many things, bigger is better. Gas station sodas, SUVs, home theater screens… More..

Honeywell Wi-Fi Touchscreen Thermostat with Voice Control
By John Sciacca,   May 19, 2014
Know what doesn’t come with a $5,000 HVAC system install? A decent thermostat. More..


1234...
Don’t Let Little White Lies Become Big Dark Lies
Read More»
To Defy Moore's Law of Electronics
Read More»
Automation, as We Know it, is Changing
Read More»
Reach Higher Value Shoppers with Google’s RLSAs
Read More»
NY Realtor Sees Re-Sale Value in Dedicated Home Theaters
Read More»
Slide Show
Slide Show

Audio Video Systems, Plainview, NY
Slide Show

Station Earth, Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Slide Show

Audio Command Systems, Westbury, NY
Slide Show

Evolution Video and Sound, Calgary, Alberta, Canada